Sloan and Hawthorne Named AHCA All-Americans – Utica University Athletics


BOSTON, MA – Erica Sloan (Potsdam, NY/St. Lawrence Steel) and Angela Hawthrone of the No. 13 Utica University women’s hockey teams have been selected to 2022-23 CCM Hockey/AHCA Division II-III Women’s All-American Hockey Teams, as announced by the AHCA on Thursday. 


Sloan, who is also a finalist for the Laura Hurd Award for the AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year, received First Team East honors at forward. The UCHC Player of the Year and All-UCHC First Team honoree led the UCHC with an incredible 45 points including recording at least one point in 25 of the team’s 28 games this season. Her 45 points are the sixth most in program history in a single season. Sloan also ranks top-10 in single-season history in points per game, goals per game, and total goals. The Potsdam, NY native was second in the conference with 24 goals and fourth with 21 assists. 


Hawthorne was named to the Eastern Second Team at goaltender after producing arguably the greatest single season between the pipes in program history. The UCHC Goaltender of the Year and All-UCHC First Team honoree etched her name into the Pioneer record books in multiple categories. The junior appeared in 23 games with 22 starts, a 1.03 average goals allowed, 524 saves, a .958 save percentage, and 16-3-3 record with six shutouts over 1338 minutes. The Santa Clara, CA native tied the most wins in a single-season (16), recorded the seventh most saves (524), best save percentage by .16, broke her own goals allowed against from last season which was 1.22, while third place is 1.61, and her six shutouts tied her career-best from last season which ranks second all-time.


NCAA Division III women’s head coaches have recognized the top 24 hockey players in their division by selecting them as CCM Hockey/AHCA All-Americans for 2022-23. The honorees come from 14 different schools, and 22 of the 24 are from the U.S., with one each from Quebec and Norway. The state of Minnesota, with five players, provided the most All-Americans. Eight players are participating in the 2023 NCAA Division III Frozen Four that begins Friday at Amherst College.


Schools leading the way: Adrian College has five, followed by Gustavus Adolphus College with three and four schools with a pair. By class, there are two graduates, 14 seniors, five juniors, one sophomore and two freshmen. Five players have been previously recognized: including repeat First Team selections Kayla Vrieze, a senior defender from Gustavus, and Sophie Rausch, a senior forward from Wisconsin-Eau Claire. (She was an All American while at Hamline University in 2022.)


The CCM Hockey/AHCA All-American Hockey Teams are sponsored by CCM Hockey and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

Players Mentioned

#6 Erica Sloan F 5′ 5″ Senior Public Relations and Marketing Players Mentioned

#6 Erica Sloan 5′ 5″ Senior Public Relations and Marketing F
Visit Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply