Serdachny Named Player of the Year at ECAC Hockey Award Banquet – Colgate University Athletics


NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Danielle Serdachny of Colgate Women’s Hockey was named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year, headlining six Raiders who were named to all-league teams Thursday night during the ECAC Hockey Awards Banquet inside Omni Hotel.

Senior captain Serdachny collected a handful of trophies as she was named the ECAC Hockey Player and Forward of the Year, and garnered the Wayne Dean Sportsmanship award. 

Sydney Bard, Hannah Murphy, Allyson Simpson, Kristýna Kaltounková, and Elyssa Biederman were named to their respective All-League teams. Sammy Smigliani finished as a finalist for the Mandi Swartz Scholar Award, while Head Coach Greg Fargo was named a Coach of the Year finalist. 

Danielle Serdachny

Fresh off being named to the Patty Kazimer top 10, senior captain Serdachny has been on a tear throughout the 2022-23 season as she has broken multiple records. The Edmonton, Alberta native was named ECAC Hockey Player, and Forward of the Year for the second time in her career, as she won both awards in 2021. Serdachny was also named to the All-ECAC Hockey First Team for the second time in her star-studded career. The forward has been named to ECAC All-League teams four years in a row. 

She finished off the night being named the inaugural Wayne Dean Sportsmanship Award winner, an honor given to an ECAC Hockey student-athlete (men’s or women’s) who demonstrates the highest level of integrity and sportsmanship; displays the utmost respect for student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and officials, as well as the game/sport; and encourages all individuals to demonstrate good sportsmanship and ethical conduct inside and outside of the competition setting.

Sydney Bard

The senior defender was named to the All-ECAC Hockey First Team for the first time in her four-year career. Bard tallied three goals and 28 assists for a career-high 31 points through 37 games. 

The New Hartford, N.Y. native was named ECAC Hockey Defender of the Week and Month twice throughout the season. 

Hannah Murphy

The sophomore netminder was named to the All-ECAC Hockey Second Team for her impressive 17-1-1 season. Murphy has tallied back-to-back 17-win seasons and she holds a career record of 34-4-1 record. Murphy has garnered one weekly award this season, holding impressive wins over Yale, Clarkson, and Cornell. 

Allyson Simpson

Senior defender Simpson was named to the All-ECAC hockey Third Team after scoring a career-high 29 points. She was named to two ECAC Hockey weekly awards for the first time in her career. The Frisco, Texas native has played heavy minutes for Head Coach Fargo’s squad, suiting up for an average of 29 minutes a game. 

Kristýna Kaltounková

For the second year in a row, junior forward Kaltounková was named to an ECAC Hockey All-League Team, as she cracked the All-ECAC Hockey Third Team. Kaltounková leads the nation in power-play goals with nine. She has played a pivotal role in the Raiders’ offense as she’s second on the team in points with 52 by way of 23 goals and 29 assists. She sits fifth in program history with 117 career points.The Vlasim, Czech Republic native was named to the All-ECAC Hockey Second Team and All-Uscho Third Team last year. 

Elyssa Biederman

After breaking the program record for points in a season by a freshman, Biederman was named to the All-ECAC Hockey Rookie Team for her 34 points. The forward collected a total of 20 points through 11 games in the month of January. The Franklin, Mich. native was named ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Week four times and Rookie of the Year twice. Biederman was named Hockey Commissioners Association Rookie of the Month for the first time in program history after she tallied 15 points in January.

Sammy Smigliani

Senior forward Smigliani was named a finalist for the Mandi Swatz Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She’s scored a total of 33 goals and 45 assists for 78 points throughout her career. Smigliani has netted a handful of awards throughout her four years in the maroon and white, being named to the All-ECAC Second Team and Rookie Team and an ECAC Hockey Tournament MVP.

The Mandi Schwartz Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is presented annually to an ECAC Hockey female athlete in honor of the late Mandi Schwartz, a Yale women’s ice hockey alum who passed away in April 2011, and is awarded to the ECAC Hockey student-athlete who most embodies Mandi Schwartz’s excellence and leadership on the ice, in the classroom, and in the community. 

Head Coach Greg Fargo

Coach Fargo was named a finalist for the ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year after coaching the Raiders to back-to-back 30-win seasons. Fargo holds an NCAA career record of 306-162-27 between Colgate and Elmira. 

Fargo had a milestone season as he collected his 200th career win at Colgate, winning by a score of 2-1 over Vermont. He continued his milestone season with his 300th NCAA career win over Clarkson. 

“Greg’s impact extends far beyond the rink. As a leader, he inspires and challenges his team and staff to be their best selves both on and off the ice. His tireless work ethic, genuine care for others, and unmatched knowledge of the game make him a true asset to Colgate and to the hockey community. I am honored to call him a friend and to witness his impact firsthand” said Assistant Coach Chelsea Walkland


Players Mentioned Players Mentioned
Visit Source

Related Articles