Flanagan Earns CHA Coach of the Year Honors; Four Players Win Individual Awards


Syracuse head coach Paul Flanagan is the 2021-22 College Hockey America Coach of the Year after leading the Orange to the CHA regular season championship for the first time in program history. The 14th-year Syracuse leader guided the Orange to the Battle at the Burgh championship and a 7-1-2 record to close out the regular season. The Orange finished the season with a 13-10-6 overall record, including 11-4-1 in the CHA. It is Flanagan’s fourth CHA Coach of the Year award.

Graduate student Jessica DiGirolamo earned the CHA Best Defenseman Award for the second year in a row and senior Abby Moloughney garnered her second CHA Sportsmanship Award. Senior goaltender Arielle DeSmet is the CHA Goaltender of the Year and forward Lauren Bellefontaine won the league’s Best Defensive Forward honor.

The 2022 College Hockey America regular season champions Syracuse Orange will host the 2022 CHA Championship from February 24 to 26 at Tennity Ice Pavilion. The #1 seed Orange will play the winner of the quarterfinal game between fourth-seed Lindenwood and fifth-seed RIT on Friday at 12 pm. The game will be streamed on Stretch.

Tickets for the 2022 CHA Championship can be purchased on game days at the Tennity Ice Pavilion box office. Daily tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for children and students. Parking is available, free of charge, in the lots around Tennity Ice Pavilion, including the Softball Stadium Lot, 621 North Skytop Lot and 621 South Skytop Lot.

Flanagan has a 431-306-73 career record, including 201-223-49 at Syracuse. He also won the CHA Coach of the Year award in 2009-10, 2012-13 and 2014-15. The only head coach in Syracuse hockey history, Flanagan has built the program from an upstart to a perennial contender in College Hockey America. He came to SU in March 2008 when the University launched the program. One of the winningest coaches in the history of collegiate women’s hockey, Flanagan guided the 2018 Orange to the CHA championship and the program’s first NCAA Tournament bid. He has mentored multiple CHA Award winners, including seven Best Defensemen, six Best Defensive Forwards, four Rookies of the Year, two Goaltending Trophy Award winners, two Goaltenders of the Year and 78 All-Academic Team selections.

DiGirolamo, who won three Defenseman of the Month awards and five Defenseman of the Week honors this season, owns Syracuse career records for goals (33), assists (58) and points (92) by a defenseman, and she ranks second on the Orange career assists record list. A 2021-22 All-CHA First Team selection, she earned Battle at the Burgh All-Tournament team honors after recording three assists, four blocks and eight shot in two games. DiGirolamo leads the league in shots per game (4.93). Five Syracuse skaters have won the CHA Best Defenseman Award, including DiGirolamo, Lindsay Eastwood (2019-20), Allie Munroe (2016-17 and 2018-19), Nicole Renault (2015-16) and Akane Hosoyamada (2012-13).

Moloughney, who also won the 2019-20 CHA Sportsmanship Award, is Syracuse’s leading scorer with 13 goals and 15 assists and is the only CHA top-10 scorer with zero penalty minutes in CHA play, and she had just two penalties in 29 games. A native of Ottawa, Ontario, Moloughney and Penn State forward Natalie Heising are the only two players in CHA history to win the award twice. She owns the Syracuse career record for games with three or more points (9) and multi-point games (28). A 2021-22 All-CHA Second Team selection, Moloughney tallied her 100th career point at Penn State, becoming the fourth member of the Syracuse 100 Point Club. She was named to the Battle at the Burgh All-Tournament Team. She joins three other Syracuse players who have won this honor, including Margot Scharfe (2011-12), Holly Carrie-Mattimoe (2012-13) and Stephanie Grossi (2017-18).

DeSmet, a semifinalist for the National Women’s Hockey Goaltender of the Year Award, is the second consecutive Syracuse player to earn CHA Goaltender of the Year Award. Graduate student Allison Small won the honor last season. A senior and 2021-22 All-CHA First Team selection, DeSmet posted a .939 save percentage, which ranks eighth nationally and leads the CHA, and is second on the Syracuse single-season record list. Her 2.01 goals against average ranks fourth on the Orange single-season record ledger. The Charlotte, Vt. native tallied a career-high 54 saves at Penn State, which is second on the Syracuse single-game record list and had four games with more than 40 saves. She was named Battle at the Burgh Most Valuable Player and earned All-Tournament Team honors. Syracuse also has had two CHA Goaltending Trophy Award winners in Small (2019-20) and Abbey Miller (2016-17).

The CHA Best Defensive Forward Award is the second annual recognition for Bellefontaine who was the 2018-19 CHA Rookie of the Year. In 2021-22 she has 43 blocks, including a career-high four at Penn State and at Mercyhurst. The 2021-22 All-CHA Second Team selection ranks 12th nationally and third in the CHA with 373 faceoff wins. She ranks ninth in the CHA with 22 points (eight goals and 14 assists). She has seven multi-point games, including three with two assists. She earned the CHA Forward of the Month Award in January. Bellefontaine’s award is the sixth CHA Best Defensive Forward honor for a Syracuse skater, including Margot Scharfe (2011-12 and 2012-13), Jessica Sibley (2015-16), Stephanie Grossi (2017-18) and Moloughney (2020-21).

2022 CHA Tournament Schedule

Thursday, February 24    Quarterfinal

4 pm        #4 Lindenwood vs. #5 RIT

Friday, February 25          Semifinals

12 pm     #1 Syracuse vs. winner of #4/#5 game

4 pm        #2 Penn State vs. #3 Mercyhurst

Saturday, February 26      Championship Game (2 pm)

For complete coverage of Syracuse ice hockey, follow us on Facebook (Syracuse Women’s Ice Hockey), Twitter (@CuseIce) and Instagram (@CuseIce).


Orange alumni, fans and friends are invited to share in a year-long celebration of 50 years of Syracuse University women’s athletics. Events and special recognition of all female student-athletes who have donned the Block S to represent Syracuse University and the Athletics Department since 1971-72 will be held throughout the 2021-22 seasons. As we celebrate this history, we acknowledge those who have gone before us to set the standard we strive to achieve today so we can pave the way for the future. We reflect on the history of women in sport, admire their sacrifices, recognize their contributions and accomplishments, and honor their legacy.

Visit Source

Related Articles