Colgate Women’s Hockey Announces Their End-of-Year Team Awards

Photo credit: Scott Kinville/315 Hockey.

By Scott Kinville/315 Hockey.

Colgate University announced a variety of awards on Thursday via the team’s Twitter page (@ColgateWIH). The Raiders had a tremendous season, as they ranked as high as third in the national polls before finishing the season ranked fifth. They won their third consecutive ECAC Tournament title, and although they lost in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament, it was to the eventual national champions the Wisconsin Badgers.

There was a total of seven awards given out by the team, but they were well represented in the University athletic awards as well – affectionately known as the Golden Gates. Head Coach Greg Fargo was named the University’s Coach of the Year, and Elyssa Biederman was named the Colgate athletic Rookie of the Year. Senior Sammy Smigliani finished the Women’s Team’s representation at the awards by being named one of two Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

New Hartford’s Sydney Bard showed up twice on the team’s awards list. She was named Co-Defensive MVP (along with Allyson Simpson) and she also received the team’s Sportsmanship Award. The full list of Colgate Raiders Women’s Hockey Award winners is as follows:

The 2023-24 Colgate Raiders Women’s Hockey season will begin in the Fall with the with the exact dates to be announced. Visit to stay up to date on all Colgate Raiders athletics.

Related Articles